spiced carrot slaw

2 Dec

One holiday down, one to go!  I hope everyone stuck to the “game plan” and didn’t over-do it!  My mom put out a healthy spread this year, which I was very thankful for!  And my mother-in-law brought a delicious beet and apple slaw and a wonderful spinach salad…I doubled up on these, they were so good!  Don’t worry, I saved room for a little pumpkin pie, pecan pie and my no-bake chocolate pecan pie bars 🙂

Don’t wait for the new year to start eating healthy!  Take this time in between Thanksgiving and Christmas to focus on eating real, pure, whole foods.   Putting health and wellness first during the holiday season is the best present you can give to yourself and those you love!

I think one of the easiest way to “clean” up your diet is to have at least one raw vegetable dish per day, preferably more!  This spiced carrot slaw is a great accompaniment to any meal.  We had it with garlicky kale and quinoa last night!

spiced carrot slaw ~vegan/GF~

Spiced Carrot Slaw

4 large carrots, shredded

1/4 cup raisins

For the dressing:

juice from 1 lemon

1/3 cup sunflower seed butter

1 tablespoon pure maple syrup

3 tablespoons of water (or more for desired consistency)

1/2 teaspoon cumin

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

sea salt to taste

spiced carrot slaw ~vegan/GF~

I love this little helping hand!

-Blend dressing ingredients in a food processor until well combined.

-In a large bowl, mix carrots, raisins and dressing.  Adjust flavor if needed.

-Garnish with sunflower seeds and parsley.

-Enjoy!

2 Responses to “spiced carrot slaw”

  1. Ellen DecpmThu, 12 Dec 2013 19:19:01 -05002013-12-12T19:19:01-05:0007 28, 2013 at 9:26 -05:0012 #

    This is soooo good, Crissy! I threw it on a bed of spinach with some toasted walnuts.. delicious! 🙂

    • beginwithinnutrition DecamTue, 24 Dec 2013 10:54:55 -05002013-12-24T10:54:55-05:0010 28, 2013 at 9:26 -05:0012 #

      Glad you like it Ellen!!! xoxo

Leave a comment